LETTERS THAT MATTER

TO MY SON,

This letter, unlike your sister’s Tafari, has been the hardest thing for me to write. With her I simply wrote things I wanted to hear from my mother and things that I heard, until it occured to me that with you I am free to recreate the image of the modern day man by fixing their perfect imperfection.

***

There are so many names I would like to give to you, inclusive of Simba, Kion, David and Jabali. I will have like a list of seven, but your father will let me keep two. Time will tell, but one thing is for sure, your names will be a symbol of strength and pride and nothing has ever looked better on man,than this two values combined.

As a mother, there are so many things and decisions I can not make for you boy, and someday you will grow into a man and choose your own path in life: your occupation, love, beliefs and values. But there are certain things that only I can teach because the pain of watching the world teach you would break my heart into a thousand little peices every time I see you hurt.

Asiye funzwa na mamaye hufunzwa na ulimwengu                      -swahili proverb

I would love to carry you in my arms every single day, but baby time passes by so fast, but before it does, I will make sure I hug every single day kiss you and tell you I love you with every dawning day, so when the time comes for you to leave I will be carrying you in my heart, so that even if you are ten thousand miles away, the smell of your hair in your childhood, the mild body mask in your early years and the beautiful cologne in your youth will still linger in the air every time I think of you.

 You will outgrow my laps but never my heart, because the space inside is for me to carry you around. I promise to love you so much that even when two thousand women break your heart, you will always know that you have a place in your mother’s heart and a home in my arms even when your grey and old.

The bond between mother and son remains unchanged by distance and time since it’s the purest kind of love so unconditional and true, it is understanding of any situation and forgiving to any mistake.

I will gladly show you that there is nothing wrong with loving or being loved a little too much so that when you get your own wife and kids you will shower them with love so beautiful and blissful. Baby, this, however, does not mean that it will be a smooth ride all the way. People argue, fight, some go for a long time but there is beauty in conversation and conflict resolution. I will teach you that blows and punches, never solve a thing, a pitcher of wine or a mug of beer only make things worse, and raising your voice only makes it a little more difficult to be heard.

It takes a strong person to say sorry but an even stronger person to forgive, forget and move on. The weak never forgive, forgiveness is an attribution f the strong -MahatmaGandhi

I will never put myself down, disregard myself or another woman ever in your presence. I want you to learn to see me as I veiw myself and that way, you will learn to respect other women through me. Even at my old age, you will learn to view me as the most beautiful woman, for it is only that way that you will learn to appreciate beauty in its dynamics and not confine yourself to social standards of beauty. It will make me happy to see you appreciate internal beauty and mental strength, before you say another person is not beautiful simply because he or she does not look like you or go by what you perceive as beautiful. That boy is the beginning of inner beauty.

If only eyes saw souls instead of bodies, then our ideals of beauty would be different.

Baby, you are beautiful, but I would never want this fact to get into your head, making you thick, shallow and big-headed. You shall learn that your beauty is not to break innocent girls hearts simply because the society will let you get away with it. Your beauty is for you to share with the world…your eyes to communicate hope to the hopeless, your lips to smile and bring the sunshine into other people’s world, and baby your beautiful mouth is for you to speak peace, love, intellect and integrity.

You create beauty with your attitude, your behaviour and your actions. Personal beauty is better than any letter of recommendation. -Aristotle

My biggest prayer is that my abadunt love for you does not make you arrogant and out of touch with your masculine side. I want you to have a beautiful heart like Jonathan in the Bible, courage like David with the humility of his son Solomon, selflesness like the four chaplains of tha United states and peaceful like Muhammad (PBUH) in the Qur’an and alittle soul like Mahattma Gandhi and Buddha never hurt somebody.

Do not walk proudly on the earth. Your feet cannot tear the earth apart nor are you as tall as mountains.                                                -Qur’an

Do not mistake that I claim perfection from you. Baby your human and I will embrace your mistakes and redirect you in the best way i know (you do not come with a manufactures manual). All I want is for you to be the best you can be. I want to look at you in my old age and cry of satisfaction that I left a mark in this world embodied in the soul of my baby boy.

I saw you were perfect, and I love you…I will see your impafection and love you even more.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “LETTERS THAT MATTER

Leave a Reply

